Weekly COVID-19 Update from WCSD 12.4.20

Good afternoon!

Effective yesterday, Dec. 3, 2020, the COVID-19 quarantine time period was reduced from 14 days to 10 days, per the Utah Department of Health and Governor's office. 

We're excited because these new testing guidelines offer a reduced quarantine to 7 days for some individuals who qualify! See below for more details, and accurate information on the District's Rapid Testing Center, located on 600 South at WHS North Campus:

Calendar

WHO CAN TEST OUT OF QUARANTINE EARLY?

Anyone who was exposed to COVID-19 by someone outside of your household is eligible to test out of quarantine on or after the 7th day. In order to qualify for early release, they must have been symptom-free for the previous 10-day period. Individuals who were exposed by a household contact (someone who lives or was living in your home) are still encouraged to test, but will not qualify for an early release from quarantine at the 7-day mark. Regardless of exposure location, all quarantine periods have been reduced from 14 days to 10 days from the LAST exposure to the infected individual. Household exposures may require longer quarantine if the individual who is COVID-positive is unable to isolate as each subsequent day of contact during the infectious period restarts the 10-day quarantine period.

Staff and students of WCSD are eligible for rapid antigen testing at the district testing center. We do not offer PCR testing at this location.

STUDENT AND STAFF COVID-19 RAPID TESTING CENTER:
https://bit.ly/wcsdtest 
QR Code

The WCSD Testing Center is a licensed facility and has a CLIA Certificate of Waiver to offer Rapid Antigen COVID-19 tests only.

Please note: At this time the WCSD Testing Center is not able to test anyone who is not a current student or staff member.

HOW LONG SHOULD I WAIT TO BE TESTED AFTER I'VE BEEN EXPOSED?

You need to wait at least 7 days after your exposure before testing, unless you have symptoms. Testing before 7 days without symptoms has a high probability of false negatives. This means if you test too early, you might actually have COVID-19, but still test negative. A test prior to 7 days will not qualify a non-household exposure for early release from quarantine. 

WHAT TYPE OF TEST QUALIFIES ME FOR EARLY RELEASE?

Any antigen or PCR test from a certified lab will qualify for release if the above qualifications are met. Per the state guidelines, antibody and at-home COVID-19 tests do not qualify. 

Athletes who are required by the current Public Health Order and Utah High School Activities Association (UHSAA) to test every other week are tested with the same rapid antigen test at scheduled times and locations. If they miss their scheduled test date, they should reach out to their coach for more guidance on make-up testing options.

Test kits are graciously donated by the Utah Department of Health for use by schools and other public health entities. Neither the District, nor the Health Services Team, receives any type of incentive or kickback for providing this public health service. If you have questions about the testing center, please reply to this email and we will answer any concerns directly.

For more helpful information regarding quarantine and testing, please visit: https://coronavirus.utah.gov/protect-yourself/

Weekly grid  


¡Buenas tardes!

A partir de ayer, 3 de diciembre de 2020, el período de cuarentena de COVID-19 se redujo de 14 a 10 días, según el Departamento de Salud de Utah y la oficina del gobernador.

¡Estamos entusiasmados porque estas nuevas pautas de prueba ofrecen una cuarentena reducida a 7 días para algunas personas que califican! Consulte a continuación para obtener más detalles e información precisa sobre el Centro de Pruebas Rápidas del Distrito, ubicado en 600 South en WHS North Campus:

Calendar  

¿QUIÉN PUEDE PROBAR EN CUARENTENA TEMPRANO?

Cualquier persona que haya estado expuesta al COVID-19 por alguien fuera de su hogar es elegible para realizar la prueba fuera de la cuarentena a partir del séptimo día. Para calificar para la liberación anticipada, deben haber estado libres de síntomas durante el período anterior de 10 días. Las personas que fueron expuestas por un contacto en el hogar (alguien que vive o estaba viviendo en su hogar) aún pueden realizar la prueba, pero no calificarán para una liberación anticipada de la cuarentena en la marca de los 7 días. Independientemente del lugar de exposición, todos los períodos de cuarentena se han reducido de 14 a 10 días desde la ÚLTIMA exposición del individuo infectado. Las exposiciones en el hogar pueden requerir una cuarentena más prolongada si la persona que es COVID positiva no puede aislarse, ya que cada día posterior de contacto durante el período infeccioso reinicia el período de cuarentena de 10 días.

El personal y los estudiantes de WCSD son elegibles para la prueba rápida de antígenos en el centro de pruebas del distrito. No ofrecemos pruebas de PCR en esta ubicación.

 

CENTRO DE PRUEBAS RÁPIDAS PARA ESTUDIANTES Y PERSONAL COVID-19:
https://bit.ly/wcsdtest 
QR Code  

El WCSD Testing Center es una instalación autorizada y tiene un Certificado de exención CLIA para ofrecer solo pruebas Rapid Antigen COVID-19.

Tenga en cuenta: En este momento, el Centro de pruebas de WCSD no puede evaluar a nadie que no sea un estudiante o miembro del personal actual.

¿CUÁNTO TIEMPO DEBO ESPERAR PARA SER EXAMINADO DESPUÉS DE HABER ESTADO EXPUESTO?

Debe esperar al menos 7 días después de su exposición antes de realizar la prueba, a menos que tenga síntomas. La prueba antes de los 7 días sin síntomas tiene una alta probabilidad de falsos negativos. Esto significa que si realiza la prueba demasiado pronto, es posible que tenga COVID-19, pero aún así resulte negativo. Una prueba antes de los 7 días no calificará una exposición no doméstica para la liberación anticipada de la cuarentena.

¿QUÉ TIPO DE PRUEBA ME CALIFICA PARA LA PUBLICACIÓN TEMPRANA?

Cualquier prueba de antígeno o PCR de un laboratorio certificado calificará para su liberación si se cumplen las calificaciones anteriores. De acuerdo con las pautas estatales, las pruebas de anticuerpos y de COVID-19 en el hogar no califican.

Los atletas que están obligados por la Orden de Salud Pública actual y la Asociación de Actividades de Escuelas Secundarias de Utah (UHSAA) a realizar pruebas cada dos semanas se someten a la misma prueba rápida de antígenos en horarios y lugares programados. Si pierden la fecha programada para la prueba, deben comunicarse con su entrenador para obtener más orientación sobre las opciones de las pruebas de recuperación.

Los kits de prueba son amablemente donados por el Departamento de Salud de Utah para que los utilicen las escuelas y otras entidades de salud pública. Ni el Distrito ni el Equipo de Servicios de Salud reciben ningún tipo de incentivo o comisión por brindar este servicio de salud pública. Si tiene preguntas sobre el centro de pruebas, responda a este correo electrónico y responderemos cualquier inquietud directamente.

Para obtener más información útil sobre cuarentena y pruebas, visite: https://coronavirus.utah.gov/protect-yourself/

Grid