Return to Headlines

Kati Fischer Teacher of the Year Awarded at Each District School

Wrapping up 2018 in celebratory style, Wasatch Education Foundation, in conjunction with Wasatch County School District, awarded eight Kati Fischer Teacher of the Year Awards, one at each school in the District.

Award winners were chosen by peers and parents at their school, and – in some instances – students were given the opportunity to weigh-in on which teachers deserved the accolade. The award, named in honor of current Timpanogos Middle School student, Kati Fischer, includes a $1,000 cash prize. 

The individual recipients were as follows:

Daniels Canyon Elementary School:
Amy Mahoney, Instructional Coach

J.R. Smith Elementary School:
Katie Anderson Knight, Special Education Teacher

Heber Valley Elementary School:
Emily Jorgenson, Literacy Coach

Midway Elementary School:
Hayley DeJong, 3rd Grade Dual Language Immersion Teacher

Old Mill Elementary School:
Leticia Heredia, 5th Grade Dual Language Immersion Teacher

Rocky Mountain Middle School:
Alexandra Douglas, Health/Intro to Film Teacher

Timpanogos Middle School:
Jonathan Case, History & Student Government Teacher

Wasatch High School:
Scott Ward, Chemistry Teacher

To learn more about the Kati Fischer Teacher of the Year Award, please contact Kirsta Albert, or 435-640-1638,

About Wasatch County School District
Wasatch County School District commits to preparing every student for career and college readiness by building confident, accomplished and literate graduates. WCSD serves more than 7,000 students at eight schools – Daniels Canyon ElementaryHeber Valley ElementaryJ.R. Smith ElementaryMidway ElementaryOld Mill ElementaryRocky Mountain Middle SchoolTimpanogos Middle School, and Wasatch High School. For more information, please click here.