Disclosure Document

  •  

     
    Page
     
     
    of 4
     
     
    ZOOM
     
     

     

     
    DISCLOSURE DOCUMENT
    Drivers EducationWasatch High School
    Mr. Clint Kelley
    clint.kelley@wasatch.eduP
     
    ARENTS: OF ALL THE DISCLOSURES YOU WILL WANT TO READ IT IS THIS ONE!!! NONE OF US WANT TO HAVE TO DRIVE OUR KIDS AROUND ANY MORE THAN WE ALREADY HAVE TO!! AM I RIGHT??? THIS DOCUMENT WILL ANSWER A LOT OF QUESTIONS YOU MAY ALREADY HAVE ABOUT HOW TO GET A DRIVERS LICENSE. PLEASE ALSO REFER TO MY TEACHER WEB PAGE IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS OR NEED MORE INFORMATION. - Thanks
     
    Welcome to Wasatch High School’s Driver Education Program. The goal of this class is to help each one of you become responsible and skilled drivers, and to help you realize the serious nature of becoming a responsible driver. Each year thousands of people lose their lives driving on our nation’s highways, and over 75% of those deaths are caused by drivers’ mistakes. Some of these mistakes are the result of a lack of knowledge or skill but not paying attention to the rules of the road also causes accidents. The Driver Education Staff at Wasatch High will do everything we can to prepare you so that you will not make those same mistakes.The course will include two venues: (1) Classroom Instruction (State law requires 27 hours minimum or fewer than 4 absences per term) held during the school day, and (2) behind the Wheel Instruction (6 hours of driving instruction in the car) held before and/or after school or during the summer months. Your student has until the summer after graduating to do this. It does not have to be done during this semester. We are in no hurry to drive them until you have worked with them, they feel comfortable in all types of driving situations and they have logged in at least 40 driving hours (10 at night) with you.Classroom Venue: THIS IS A SEMESTER CLASS. Students must pass both terms to get their license. If the student passes the 1st Term, is 16 years old, and has met all the requirements to obtain a license, he/she can receive their license at the end of the 1st Term. Students must continue to attend and pass the 2nd term class work or their license will be retracted by the DLD.Grades in the classroom will be based on the following:1. Daily Assignments and Quizzes:Throughout the course of the semester we will have a variety of quizzes and writing assignments based on classroom discussions and presentations. A 70% average is required on all quizzes and tests or they will need to be re-taken.2. Utah State Handbook Packet and Outlines:Each chapter in the Utah Driver Handbook will be completed through an outline provided by the teacher.3. Utah State Handbook Exams:A test will be taken on each chapter in the Utah Driver Handbook. A score of 70% or higher is required or the test will need to be re-taken.
     
     
     
     
    4. Grades:Grades will be figured on a percentage basis. 70% average from the five areas listed above is required to pass Driver Education. A “C”grade or higher is required to pass. No one wants to be driving next to someone on the road whom received a “D” in their drivers ed class.***Utah State Lawrequires students to have 27 hours of classroom instruction to pass Driver Education. That means if you miss (3) CLASS PERIODS IN THE TERM, OR (6) IN THE SEMESTER, you WILL NOT receive the seat time required by the State of Utah, thus failing the class. Make-up sessions will be held on Mondays during Consultation Hour in Mr.Kelley’s classroom or Saturday attendance school through the school.ATTENDANCE PLOICY:We no longer have one! Come to class as often as you can ready to learn. Remember, if you’re not in class you will not get the information presented and thus may not pass the class resulting in not getting a license. YOU DECIDE!Class Rules:Come to class, be on time and be prepared to learn!!! MAKE SURE TO BRING YOUR CHARGED LAPTOP WITH YOU EACH DAY! I’m pretty flexible and lenient when it comes to cell phones and food/drink in my classroom but if it becomes a problem then we’ll have to make some changes.Behind the Wheel Instruction (does not need to be done during the semester):Each student will receive 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction, and 12 hours of observation time in the Driver Education car. Students will be assigned to an instructor, and will begin driving any where from two months, to two weeks before their birthday following the completion of the 40 hour driving commitment with parents or guardian. To sign up to drive go to myschoolfees.com and pay the $120 driving fee. Email me the receipt and I will assign you to a road instructor. Your road instructor will contact you to arrange a driving schedule.Our road instructors are: Mr.Clint Kelley, Coach Steve Coburn, Coach Stanton Akana,. Mr. Randy Tree and Mr. Theron GustafsonNew Learner Permit Law and Handbook Testing Procedures:New Utah Statutes allows the issuance of a Learner Permit to students who are enrolled in a Driver Education Class; are 15 years old; and have passed the State Handbook Written Test with 80%. The Handbook Test can be taken at the DLD or WHS after a student turns 15 years of age, and has paid the $19.00 testing fee at the DLD. This permit allows a student to drive with a parent, guardian, or adult spouse to complete the 40 hour driving requirement.A student must have a Learner Permit for a minimum of (6) months prior to receiving their operator’s license.
     
     
     
     
    Steps to obtaining a Drivers License:1. A student must have passed the Written Exam at the DLD or at the High School, and had a Learner Permit issued to them for a minimum of (6) months.2. Completed the required 40 hours driving with parent/guardian.3. Be 16 years of age or older.4. Paid the $120.00 Fee for Driver Education to Wasatch High School via www.myschoolfees.com5. Passed the Driver Education Class at Wasatch High School with a “C” better grade.6. Passed the Road Exam with a Certified Driver Education Instructor from Wasatch High with a Score of 80% or higher.7. Pass the 40 Question Online Safety Test. SEE MY TEACHER WEB PAGE FOR MORE INFORMATION AND ANSWERS TO ANY QUESTIONS YOU MAY HAVE!!!
     
     
     
     
    LETTER OF PERMISSION AND UNDERSTANDINGDear Parents:As you know your student is enrolled in the Driver Education Course offered at Wasatch High School. We wish to make it clear that we do not expect, in the limited time available, to develop these students into thoroughly experienced drivers. Furthermore, the purpose of the course is not to obtain driver licenses for the students, but rather, through carefully guided practice, to teach them the fundamentals of vehicle operation and to lay the foundation for a sound understanding of traffic regulation and the need for obeying them.We shall provide organized, competent instruction in the fundamentals of driving, with each student receiving about six hours of actual driving experience. They may also as a result of that driving experience pass the state driving test and qualify for a license. That test measures the ability to perform certain basic driving maneuvers and a general knowledge of safe driving procedures. It cannot however measure the ability to react in emergency or stressed situations, unless they actually occur during the testing procedure. Reacting properly to emergency situations comes from experience and deeply ingrained safe driving habits. For that reason as driver education teachers, we have concerns with the passage of the test as being interpreted to mean that the student is now a safe and skilled driver. We feel that no one can be classified as a skilled driver without years of driving and the experience that it brings, and that it is critical for the safe driving practices taught in the course to be continued until they become habits. Research shows that habits typically take 20 to 30 days to form. Unfortunately, students who immediately upon receiving a license spend most of their time driving with their peers tend to disregard those skills, and therefore habits never form. It would be our recommendation that the student, for at least one month after obtaining a license, spend most of that time driving with an adult who will continue to reinforce safe driving habits, like checking blind spots, signaling for at least 3 seconds before changing lanes, entering or leaving the roadway, and staying within the speed limits, etc.I have read the Dr. Ed. Disclosure Statement, and hereby give consent for my student to take a complete Driver Education Course, including practice driving instruction, under the guidance of a Certified Driver Education Instructor at Wasatch High School.Signature of Parent or Guardian: COMPLETE CANVAS QUIZ IN LEIU OF SIGNATURE