• Tutorial

    What is Tutorial?  

    • Tutorial is a program here at WHS that will allow teachers to reteach and help those students who have not mastered the essential skills of a particular course.  And, while some students will be requested to work with specific teachers, others will be able to choose from an offering of academic enrichments.  Every student will have a place to go during Tutorial time, and every student is required to attend.  (Our Tutorial program here at WHS is similar to the Stretch program at the two middle schools in our district.)  

    Why are we doing Tutorial?  

    • There are some things that every student needs to know before leaving WHS.  And, while class time does allow for teaching, learning, and enrichment, we know not every student masters a concept the first time.  There needs to be additional time built into the schedule to reteach the essentials.  
    • This system is research-based.  High schools across the country run a similar intervention model with great success, so we know this will be a good thing for WHS students.  

    What will the new schedule be?  

    • Tutorial will take place Tuesday through Friday between 1st and 2nd periods.   

    When will Tutorial start?  

    • Tutorial will begin the first full week of the school year.  Students will report to their advisory the first day of each week to register for labs. The second day of each week will be the day students attend their registered labs. During the pilot, Tutorial will run two days a week, one day with advisory and one day with labs, with our current schedule running the remaining portion of the week.  

    What is a lab?  

    • “Labs” are the classes students will attend during Tutorial time.  Labs will be 40 minutes long and will be offered on a range of subjects.     

    What is the difference between a closed and open lab?  

    • Closed Labs are specifically for those students who were previously assigned to attend.  Teachers determine the information covered in a Closed Lab, and they also determine which students need to be there.  Only assigned students can attend a Closed Lab.  
    • Closed Labs might cover subjects like independent vs. dependent variables in science, prepping for the English section of the ACT, solving systems in Math 1, etc.  
    • Open Labs are open to any student that was not previously assigned to a Closed Lab.  Open Labs will be able to hold the number of students that particular classroom has room for.  So, some Open Labs will fill, simply due to space.  But, Open Labs will be offered on different days, so students will have the opportunity to attend the Open Lab of their choosing, eventually.  Any student, as long as they weren’t requested by a different teacher, is welcome to attend an Open Lab.  (Note: Some Open Labs, due to safety reasons and students needing to know how to work with specific equipment , might be limited to students enrolled in specific courses, ie: Open Labs held in the wood shop or metal shop.)    
    • Open Labs might cover subjects like advanced weight training extension, civics text make-up, learning history through film, etc. 

    How will students be assigned to Closed Labs?  

    • Teachers will assign students to Closed Labs based on students' performance in their class and whether or not they have mastered specific skills and standards.  
    • All students will receive an email from the school district on Monday morning of each week.  The email will tell students whether or not they were assigned to a specifc Closed Lab and on which day(s).  If a student was assigned to a Closed Lab, the email will list the day of the week and the name of the requesting teacher.  If a student was not assigned or requested, they will simply see the phrase, “No teacher requests selected for today.”  (See sample email below.)  

    sample email

    How will students register for Open Labs?  

    • Students will register for Open Labs every Monday in their advisory class.  The registration link is listed under "Site Shortcuts" on our school's homepage.  Students will log into the program using their SIS login credentials.  
    • Once students are logged in, they’ll be able to see the lab offerings for the week.  If they’re not assigned to a Closed Lab, they’ll be able to sign up for any Open Lab that still has available seats.   
    • Pay attention to the description of each Open Lab.  Some Open Labs, ie: those taking place in the woodshop or metal shop, might have a requirement that students already be safety certified or be enrolled in a specific course in order to register. 
    • There will be around 80 labs offered each day.  

    Is Tutorial Registration only accesible on a school computer?  

    • For the time being, yes.  Students will need to be on campus on our school wifi, in order to access the registration program and register for tutorial labs.

    What if a student is absent during advisory?  

    • Students will still need to register for Tutorial Labs on their own time. Registration closes each day during Tutorial time and re-opens after Tutorial time ends.   

    Will attendance be taken during Tutorial?  

    • Yes, Tutorial attendance will be monitored, both in Open Labs and in Closed Labs.  Students are required to attend.    

    Is Tutorial mandatory for Seniors?  

    • Yes, participation in Tutorial is expected for all students. Students wil a schedule conflict, ie: a college course, should speak with an administrator.

    Is there a grade attached to Tutorial Labs? 

    • No, there are not grades attached specifically to Tutorial Labs. However, Closed Labs and select Open Labs can help students perform better in their regularly scheduled classes, which is why attendance is mandatory.  

    How is Tutorial different from our previous intervention program? 

    • The previous intervention program caused a large number of students to be in the commons, as only those students who needed help were assigned to be with a teacher. With our new Tutorial, students who need additonal time and support to learn what they need to know will be assigned to specific teachers in closed labs while those students who already know the essentials, will have the opportunity to choose topics they would like to learn more about or choose some subjects and activities that they would like to explore in open labs. All students will benefit from Tutorial.   

    Where do students go, when they have questions about Tutorial?  

    • Tutorial is a schoolwide program.  Students should be able to ask any teacher on campus and receive an answer as to how Tutorial works and functions.  Advisory teachers will also be present every Monday, when students sign up for their labs for the week.  
    • This is a new program for our school.  And, any program affecting 2400 students will have complex aspects.  At any time, students are welcome to reach out with questions.  All WHS teachers are happy to help, however they can.

    Where can parents go for additional information about Tutorial?

    • Parents are welcome to contact any member of our school's Guiding Coalition or Tutorial Team for additional information:
      • Tod Johnson -- tod.johnson@wasatch.edu                  
      • Ryan Bishop -- ryan.bishop@wasatch.edu
      • Duke Distefano -- duke.distefano@wasatch.edu
      • Adam Hagan -- adam.hagan@wasatch.edu
      • Claire Mair -- claire.mair@wasatch.edu
      • David Anderson -- david.anderson@wasatch.edu
      • Carrie Bala -- carrie.bala@wasatch.edu
      • Colleen Cummings -- colleen.cummings@wasatch.edu
      • Kody Clyde -- kody.clyde@wasatch.edu
      • Kristen Distefano -- kristen.distefano@wasatch.edu
      • Megan Harwin -- megan.harwin@wasatch.edu
      • Erin Heywood -- erin.heywood@wasatch.edu
      • Nate Mitchell -- nathaniel.mitchell@wasatch.edu
      • Jared Neal -- jared.neal@wasatch.edu
      • Ashley Painter -- ashley.painter@wasatch.edu
      • Matthew Sproul -- matthew.sproul@wasatch.edu
      • Dennis VanAusdal -- dennis.vanausdal@wasatch.edu
      • Becca Wilhite -- becca.wilhite@wasatch.edu
      • Faith Woodard -- faith.woodard@wasatch.edu